Judging of Craft American Spirits


The results for the 8th Annual Judging of Craft American Spirits are in.

To see the list of award-winning spirits, click here:

Judging Protocols

Before the judging begins, all spirits are received by a member distillery and put in a secure area. Boxes remain sealed upon arrival until the week prior to judging. The judging team opens the boxes to sort the spirits by class before being moving them to the judging venue.

Past Winners

View winners from past years of judging: 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007

Submission Guidelines

The American Distilling Institute will judge artisan American gins, rums, fruit infusions, brandies, moonshines and whiskies. Select judges will perform a blind tasting of spirits submitted.

List of Judges

ADI is pleased to announced the panel of esteemed experts that will evaluate the spirits.

Luis Ayala
Maggie Campbell
Christopher Carlsson
Louis Chatey
Don Coffey
Thomas Collins 
Brendan Coyle 
David Dafoe
Michael Delevante
Flavien Desoblin
H. Joseph Ehrmann
Nancy Fraley 
Andrew Friedman
Cornelius Geary
Hubert Germain-Robin
Robert Hess
Monique Houston
Aaron Knoll 
Julia Nourney
Brett Pontoni 
Henry Preiss
Matthew Rowley
Audrey Saunders
Francis Schott 
Mike Sherwood
Brendan Danger Wheatley
Richard Wolf
David Wondrich